Wanna get our awesome news?

Subscribe to our newsletter!


Actually we won’t spam you and keep your personal data secure

As the voice of the Indian restaurant industry, we represent the interests of 500000+ restaurants & an industry valued @ USD 4 billion. Whether a chain or independent restaurant, the NRAI is here to help every step of the way. Join us!


Kabir Suri takes over as the New President of National Restaurant Association of India (NRAI)


New Delhi, September 10, 2021: Kabir Suri, Co-Founder & Director, Azure Hospitality, took over as the new President of the National Restaurant Association of India at its 39th Annual General Meeting held online yesterday. The appointment was made unanimously after Anurag Katriar, Executive Director and CEO of Indigo Hospitality’s two-year term came to an end.

Kabir has been part of the industry for over a quarter of a century. He has been pivotal in the growth and success of one of the fastest growing hospitality companies, with ever so popular brands under its wing such as Mamagato, Dhaba Estd. 1986, Sly Granny, Foxtrot etc. He holds a degree in Economics and Business Management from Wheaton College, Massachusetts, USA. His professional career began from commercial real estate finance in North Fork Bank in New York followed by Argent Fund Management in London as an analyst. His role required him to assist in providing investment strategies and in-depth research focusing on the hospitality segment. Kabir’s personal interests in the hospitality segment led him to the hospitality sector where he spent 3 years with international award-winning restaurants Zuma and Roka. Initially involved with operations, he then shifted to business development, spearheading global expansion and brand development.

Kabir has been associated with NRAI since 2017 and was appointed as the Vice President in 2019. He has been very instrumental in handling and resolving pressing issues of the industry.

Expressing gratitude to the Managing Committee, Kabir said, “I would like to thank the Managing Committee Members in bestowing the trust in me to carry forward the 39 years legacy of our Association. I will strive to lead the Indian Restaurant Industry into a new era of prosperity, participation and positive perception which advances and safeguards the entrepreneurial spirit. Our collective passion and shared spirit of hospitality will enhance the quality of life that we serve.”

He further said, “I would like to congratulate and thank Anurag for his incredible leadership over last two most critical years. I would personally like to assure him of my relentless quest in accomplishing the tasks at hand to make our industry vibrant and proud.”

While signing off from duties, Anurag said, “I am honoured to have led NRAI over last two years, a period which was very tumultuous and extremely difficult. However, thanks to the collective efforts of everyone, we were able to fight out the adversities pretty well. At NRAI, it is about responsibility by rotation and I am happy that the baton has now passed into the able hands of Kabir. I am sure he will navigate the Association in its journey ahead very competently. He is young, intelligent and also possesses the experience of being an Office Bearer over last couple of years.

Anurag Katriar completed his scheduled two-year term as the President of NRAI this September. He now joins Mr Hari Bhartia, Mr Riyaaz Amlani and Mr Rahul Singh on the Board of Trustees of NRAI.

Going with the policy of Responsibility by Rotation, the National Restaurant Association of India in its 39th Annual General Meeting (AGM) yesterday announced a significant reshuffle to its Managing Committee with almost 20% of the Managing Committee Members retiring and making way for fresh faces such as Abhimanyu Maheshwari (MD, Zing Restaurants Pvt Ltd), Akshay Anand (Director, Ayesha Hospitality Pvt Ltd), Avantika Sinha (Director, Tasteshop Pvt. Ltd.), Dinesh Arora (Director, MT Hospitality Pvt Ltd), Karyna Bajaj (Executive Director, KA Hospitality Pvt Ltd), Pankil Shah (Director, Neighbourhood Hospitality Pvt Ltd), Shaaz Mehmood (Partner, Olive Bar & Kitchen Pvt Ltd – Hyderabad) & Yash Bhanage (Director, Hunger Inc Hospitality Pvt Ltd).

Anurag Katriar, Past President and Trustee, NRAI, while announcing the new appointments said, “Restaurant Industry stalwarts have come together to promote and strengthen the Indian Food Services Sector. I am extremely thankful to each one of them for agreeing to contribute their valuable time, expertise and efforts for bringing ease of doing business to our beloved industry.”

Other Members of the Managing Committee who continue to serve another term include AD Singh (Managing Director, Olive Bar & Kitchen Pvt Ltd); Aditya Ladsaria (Co-Founder & Director, ALP Retail Pvt Ltd (Chai Break), Kolkata Chapter Head; Amit Roy (Partner, Shilton Hospitality); Kabir Advani (Managing Partner, Berco’s Restaurant); Chef Manu Chandra; Nitin Saluja (Founder, Chaayos); Pranav Rungta (Director, Mint Hospitality Pvt Ltd), Mumbai Chapter Head; Priyank Sukhija (Chairman, First Fiddle Hospitality), Delhi Chapter Head; Rachel Goenka (Founder & CEO, The Chocolate Spoon Company); Rohit Aggarwal (Director, Lite Bite Foods Pvt Ltd); Sandeep Anand Goyle (Director, Essex Farms (P) Ltd.); Sharad Batra (MD, Batra Brothers (Cafe Delhi Heights); Thomas Fenn (Partner, Mahabelly); Varun Tuli (Managing Director, Yum Yum Cha); Zorawar Kalra (Founder & Managing Director, Massive Restaurants Pvt Ltd), apart from the Office Bearers who anyways serve on the Managing Committee.

The Managing Committee further confirmed the following members as the new Office Bearers for next two-years:

President: Kabir Suri (Co-Founder & Director, Azure Hospitality)

Vice-President: Pratik Pota (CEO, Jubilant FoodWorks Ltd (Domino’s)

Vice-President: Sagar Daryani (CEO, Wow! Momo)

Honorary Secretary: Aseem Grover (Director, Big Chill Cafe)

Honorary Jt. Secretary: Gauri Devidayal (Co-Founder & Director, Food Matters India)

Honorary Treasurer: Manpreet Singh (Director, KS Hotels Pvt Ltd)

Special Invitees to the Managing Committee:

Ravinder Bajaj (Director- Supply Chain, Yum! Restaurants)

Nishit Pandey (Senior Director – Alliances and Corporate Affairs, Hardcastle Restaurants Pvt Ltd)

Rahul Agrawal (President, Barbeque Nation)

Varun Khera (Director, Dream Square Hospitality LLP) Noida Chapter Head

Sunveer Sondhi (Founder & CEO of La Pyramid Hospitalities Pvt. Ltd.), Chandigarh Chapter Head

Vishal Anand (Partner, Moonshine Food Ventures LLP), Gurugram Chapter Head

Mukesh Tolani (Director, PH4 Food and Beverages Pvt Ltd), Bengaluru Chapter Head

Japtej Singh Ahluwalia (Co-Founder & Director, Pricol Gourmet Private Limited), Chennai Chapter Head

Congratulating the new team, Kabir expressed, “We’ve been successful in many of our endeavors but there’s a long way to go. The new body will persistently take up issues affecting each segment with the relevant authorities Nationally, Locally and Hyper-Locally”. 

NRAI’s Virtual 39th AGM was attended by Rahul Singh from The Beer Café, Anurag Katriar from Indigo, Kabir Advani from Berco’s, AD Singh from Olive Bar & Kitchen, Priyank Sukhija from Lord of The Drinks, Riyaaz Amlani from Social, Pratik Pota from Domino’s, Nitin Saluja from Chaayos, Sagar Daryani from Wow! Momo, Aditya Ladsaria from Chai Break, Sharad Batra from Café Delhi Heights along with many other prominent restaurateurs.